Wednesday, 26 February 2014

Technical SNAFU

So. I received an email today from Google+ saying "this is what your profile looks like" and did I want to add a photo? Since I have a few photos that are good for this sort of thing, I picked one out of a photo album online (first clue) and I inserted that. Then I found a good background image and put that in.

Then I decided to go see what else was on Google+. Piles of stuff, all the pictures from my blog, as well as some things that I don't know where they came from. But the Google+ site was a mess. Lots of the photos didn't make any sense outside the context of the blog so I decided to clean it up. (Alarm bells)

I spent a pleasant evening curled up with the dog, going through these pictures and deleting those which don't really stand on their own...

...and when I went back and opened the blog, was horrified to discover half my pictures are gone and I'm the dumbass who deleted them.

I suppose its a good lesson in illustrating a blog, but right now I'm so mad I could spit nails. So I apologize for the sudden lack of photos here. I'll get them all back. Eventually.

4 comments:

  1. Google + usually keeps a copy of the picture - stored God knows where- and you can just re-install the missing ones. About the feature of installing their instant upload tool, if you use Picasa (that they also now own) don't let them do it!! Keep it off your computer or they will drive you nuts with it. Google will grab every picture off your computer! They at least have the decency to not make them ALL public until you approve. God Luck!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi - I'm low tech enough that I still have all my photos in folders on my computer so I too have them all, it's just going to be a bit of a chore to put them all back in place.
    Thanks for stopping by and for the heads-up about Picasa.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh no! I didn't know that could happen.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Glad to know I'm not the only one! I'm slowly getting things fixed up. Fortunately, all the photos on my computer are in folders with just the date that I downloaded from my camera and this generally lines up with when I wrote the post. I can (mostly) go back and just re-import them. Still, it's time. Ah well. Lesson learned.

      Delete